To suggest or submit stories

Return to Home

Rajan Kumar elected as 2015 AIAA Associate Fellow

Dr. Rajan Kumar, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Rajan Kumar, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering, FAMU-FSU College of Engineering, has been elected to Associate Fellow in the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

James F. Albaugh, AIAA President, wrote, "On behalf of the AIAA Associate Fellow Committee, it is my pleasure to inform you that you have been elected to the grade of Associate Fellow in the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). Congratulations!"

Albaugh continued, "AIAA Associate Fellows are individuals of distinction who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. Each year, only one for every 150 voting members are selected and approved. It is quite an honor."

Dr. Kumar will be officially recognized and awarded his Associate Fellow lapel pin and certificate at the AIAA Associate Fellow Recognition Ceremony and Dinner to be held on Monday, 5 January 2015, at the Gaylord™ Palms and Convention Center, Kissimmee, Florida, in conjunction with the AIAA SciTech Forum.

Florida Center for Advanced Aero-Propulsion (FCAAP)

Dr. Rajan Kumar received his M.S. and Ph. D. degrees in the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India. His current research interests include noise control in high-speed jets, separated flows, reattaching flows, high angle of attack aerodynamics and intake aerodynamics. He has conducted research in a wide range of topics in the experimental aerodynamics and fluid mechanics. This includes: characterization and control of supersonic impinging jets, side force control on slender cones at high incidence, characterization and control of reattaching flows, and force and moment measurements on a variety of aircraft and launch vehicle scaled models. He has research experience of nearly 13+ years at National Aerospace Laboratories and served at various scientific positions. He is the recipient of Outstanding performance award (1997) for "Notable and innovative contributions to model instrumentation and wind tunnel testing of launch vehicle and aircraft models at the 1.2m trisonic wind tunnel" and Young Scientist Award (2002) for "Outstanding contributions to Aerodynamic research and High Speed Wind Tunnel Testing. He is a member of AIAA and Aeronautical Society of India.